8.7/10
Fabulous
based on 2017 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Steve M.
    Steve M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Francois was the most hospitable host and such a great person to meet. He made our visit wonderful. The food was amazing. The location and ambience of this restaurant is unique and special. Best meal in Paris.

  2. Soo C.
    Soo C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Very disappointing visit. The food quality is very low for the price. The filet was a rump piece of meat that was very stringy. The French onion soup had still hard very large pieces of onions and the soup was not flavourful. We had French onion soup done the right way with a dark rich broth and almost caramelized onions. The only positive is the ambiance as the restaurant is very beautiful with Art Deco decor. I was very curious as this restaurant was featured in the film Something’s Gotta Give but the food is not worth the visit. This is what happens when the restaurant’s popularity is much bigger than the actual food. It’s not worth going.

  3. sunny s.
    sunny s.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The service was so bad & the food was just ok. It’s a beautiful place but not worth the time. We sat for 10 minutes before we finally asked for a menu. Our server seemed really bothered he had to wait on us. It was just not the experience we were expecting. We ordered the braised beef & beef fillet. The braised beef was good but don’t bother with the steak. It was cooked how I requested it but it was tough & didn’t have much flavor.

  4. Natalia M.
    Natalia M.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Though the place is well known and full of tourists. It retains its charm.

  5. Dane M.
    Dane M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I lived in Paris for many years ago but this was our first trip to your restaurant. The food and service were really excellent. However, an older drunken couple from the UK came in and were seated near us and the man stripped down to a dirty old white t-shirt stretched out at the neck and riding up on his huge belly and exposing regions of his backside that shouldn’t see the light of day let alone be exhibited in civilized company. I have never seen that allowed in any restaurant. It was unsettling. Aside from that I really enjoyed the meal. Perhaps even your liberal dress code should be enforced.

  6. Sara S.
    Sara S.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food: average, Dessert was highlight. Waiters seemed annoyed (ugh, its a Monday in January). Overpriced.

  7. Natalie S.
    Natalie S.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is such a special place! We went for my birthday and I will never forget it. Dinner was delicious and the staff are amazing! I can’t wait to go back! A must when in Paris.

  8. Chris l.
    Chris l.
    • one review
    2/10

    Terrible experience. Given menus and then ignored for 20 minutes while other people who entered after us were welcomed and given drinks, We left without ordering. Never again!

  9. Julien C.
    Julien C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Such a great place, it never disappoints!

  10. Lisa G.
    Lisa G.
    • one review
    10/10

    We booked a table at this restaurant with high expectations. They were exceeded. Staff couldn’t do enough for us, food was just fantastic, atmosphere was perfect, and even though the whole restaurant was full, you felt staff were attentive and pleased to delight you. I sat where Diane Keaton had filmed the famous scene in Something’s Gotta Give, which added to the fun! We had onion soup (best I’ve ever had), and the chicken with french fries and we chose green beans. Absolutely delicious. A special evening, in a stunning venue - thank you to the staff (including Verdi) and their patron Mr Nicolas

  11. Anaysha C.
    Anaysha C.
    • one review
    9/10

    I am a native New Yorker. My husband and I traveled to Paris for his birthday. I chose Le Grand Colbert for his birthday dinner shamelessly because of the icon scene in one of our favorite movies...Somethings Gotta Give. To our delight the experience exceeded our expectations! Such a BEAUTIFUL atmosphere. And to top it all off we were seated directly next to what seemed to be the exact location where the famous scene was filmed. Absolutely perfect and quick service, food, wine and even a special birthday treat! An experience that is sure to become a tradition when we visit Paris!

  12. Carmen M.
    Carmen M.
    • one review
    2.5/10

    We were four people and we ordered as main course "Le confit de canard". The meat was dry and inadequately cooked. The frog legs we ordered as starter were relatively oily. Having appeared in an american film shouldn't be the only attraction of a self-respecting restaurant.

  13. Alexis N.
    Alexis N.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Rude host. Bad service. Good food.

  14. Lisa S.
    Lisa S.
    • one review
    10/10

    An absolutely perfect dining experience in every way.

  15. yvonne r.
    yvonne r.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was as expected, food and wine fabulous, true French atmosphere, wait staff perfect!

  16. Kim T.
    Kim T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful food and service

  17. Manuel F.
    Manuel F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excelentes atenciones. Un gran restaurante francés.

  18. Bob R.
    Bob R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We were warmly greeted and cared for by the Le Grand Colbert team! We were thrilled to be seated at "Diane Keaton's table" and enjoyed the view of the beautiful restaurant in its holiday glitter. Our meals were delicious- we had the lapin terrine to start and John Dory for the main course, with a cream caramel dessert. We highly recommend Le Grand Colbert and will come here again when we return!

  19. Robert D.
    Robert D.
    • one review
    6/10

    Filet Luke warm when served. Sent back. Sole needed more seasoning - herbs, butter, lemon. Vegetable millefeux had no flavor despite beautifully cooked and presented. Again, no seasoning. Profiteroles very good. Head waiter inattentive for first 25 minutes.

  20. Mizi A.
    Mizi A.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Famous for one of the sets from the movie “somethings gotta give”, I wondered why Diane Keaton’s character always went back there every year... well, if I go to Paris again I will probably try this place again. The food was good, the service typical french (not so much rude but I don’t care attitude .. I will get to you when I get to you!) though the waiters were somewhat friendly....

  21. Idris H.
    Idris H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    There wasn't any Vanilla Icecream for the Profiteroles. They substituted it with Coffee Icecream. I still prefer Vanila. Otherwise the Sole fish was Excellent and the Grilled Jumbo Prawns Pasta was excellent too. Definitely coming back

  22. Francis F.
    Francis F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    After spending three days in Paris, I felt like I truly went to Paris after leaving Le Grand Colbert for dinner. The atmosphere is classic, the service friendly to Americans..the food done in classic French style. The entire night did not disappoint. We had champagne, wine, appetizers, entrees, and desert. We didn't want to leave. The place was packed with diners..all of us just having a wonderful time. I highly recommend, especially for U.S. travelers who want a classic French dining experience and want to be treated well.

  23. Peggy N.
    Peggy N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Visiting Paris, went for our last night. Food was wonderful, service excellent, ambiance was lovely. A memorable night, would highly recommend.

  24. Emir Berki B.
    Emir Berki B.
    • one review
    10/10

    classic, elegant, tres chic, delicious, perfect vin

  25. Gerald P.
    Gerald P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Warm welcome, unrushed service, excellent wine selections, varied menu, delicious preparation...what more is there to say? Next trip to Paris, we're coming back!

  26. Phillip L.
    Phillip L.
    • 188 reviews
    10/10

    Elegant and relaxed setting, friendly and professional service, very good food. Decent selection of wines by the glass. We'll definitely be coming back.

  27. Susan P.
    Susan P.
    • one review
    10/10

    After a full day of sight seeing, we arrived at 5:50PM for our 6:00 reservation. We knew we were early but had to cancel the day prior due to complete exhaustion! (Three days are not enough in Paris!) Everyone was gracious, professional and beyond expectation. By the time we left a 8:30 - the evening was exceptional - we were not alone so we got the full experience. The Chef's recommended entree and wine was perfection all the way through dessert!

  28. Andrea N.
    Andrea N.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    My husband ordered the fish of the day. It was completely filled with bones; he didn’t eat it. They charged him anyway. His French fries were delicious, but they could have been hotter. Ice cream was fabulous. My lamb was great. On line I tried to make a 5:30 reservation. The Fork website said there were only tables for 5 people available at that time. When we were in the restaurant there was hardly anyone there so I had a hard time understanding why The Fork said there were no tables for two available at 5:30.

  29. Tory b.
    Tory b.
    • one review
    7/10

    Usually a great restaurant, but tonight the service was awful. Among our party of 6, three of us didn’t get what we ordered. No apology was offered. Very disappointing.

  30. David C.
    David C.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Great all round experience.

  31. Mary Lee Q.
    Mary Lee Q.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was wonderful from first walking in the door an greeted very warmly. The food and service was excellent. We would return again and again.

  32. Gisella C.
    Gisella C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We booked le grand Colbert as our last super in Paris. It did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. We ordered hearty dishes, all very tasty. I am still thinking about the chicken, it was flavorful and the perfect potion. I can not wait to go back to Paris to eat there again.

  33. Sungjai L.
    Sungjai L.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Went into this place knowing I’d be overpaying for what I got, but went anyway to enjoy the decor and atmosphere - in this, the restaurant did not disappoint. The food was fine, but not great - the onion soup was a bit salty, the braised beef was tender but drenched with a tomato-y sauce (that wasn’t special) to seemingly hide the meat that otherwise lacked flavor. My wife’s spaghetti with shrimp in lobster sauce was fine, but for $29 I would’ve expected more - but again, I knew what I was getting into. The fresh oysters were very good ($29 good? Yeah), but the creme brûlée not so much. It is a beautiful restaurant and the service was very good - but better food options abound in Paris.

  34. Timothy T.
    Timothy T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Terrific meal, excellent service, beautiful cadre

  35. Michael N.
    Michael N.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing Fois Gras, Roast Chicken and best of all Veal Stew! Service was outstanding!

  36. Robeet H.
    Robeet H.
    • one review
    7/10

    Lovely place food was lovely but lacked somethings.... noT very friendly... didn’t take coats ... it was my 50 th birthday.... didn’t even say happy birthday

  37. Louis D.
    Louis D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful service, dinner, and ambiance.

  38. Vilma M.
    Vilma M.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Awful service, long wait, very unpleasant staff. Not enough space, very crowded, somebody bumping at your chair all the time. Very disappointing!

  39. Kelly b.
    Kelly b.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was such an awesome experience. This place is so beautiful and elegant. The waiters were so kind. It was my birthday and they all sang to me. The ambiance and vibe was wonderful. Lucky me. Everyone should experience this wonderful place

  40. Randall M.
    Randall M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Our experience at Le Grand Colbert was exactly what we hoped for for our anniversary night out! Our waiter was very kind and patient with our poor abilities with the French language!