9.3/10
Excellent
based on 2894 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Misaho k.
    Misaho k.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect!!!!!!! Everything was great taste and services were excellent.

  2. Dimple G.
    Dimple G.
    • one review
    10/10

    William who was our waiter did a fantastic job! He recommended the best wine and the dishes were great. The Prawn dish was so tasty and well cooked, the Octopus was melt in your mouth. The traditional Portuguese desert was also very delicious! We highly recommend visiting this restaurant and hopefully you have the pleasure of being served by William.

  3. Louise P.
    Louise P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food is so good! Definitely recommend!

  4. Robert C.
    Robert C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Best seafood and best service in mediterien Arealen.... Whe come back in 2 days

  5. Saide E.
    Saide E.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very good and tasty food. The service is very nice and the waiters are very kind and friendly. The menu has many fish related choices and the best octopus in Lisbon. A really good place if you want to enjoy an wonderful evening with a wonderful meal.

  6. SOJEONG J.
    SOJEONG J.
    • one review
    10/10

    good atmosphere, reasonable price, delicious food, kind and comfortable service. everything is good. I recommend this restaurant. I love it

  7. Tim L.
    Tim L.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was amazing! Just one thing that was really annoying was the doorbell. Everytime when someone wants to enter he has to ring the doorbell

  8. Miyeon J.
    Miyeon J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Octupus was very soft and all plates were anazing

  9. Inês R.
    Inês R.
    • 6 reviews
    2/10

    Disappointed. The restaurant canceled my reservation because I didn't tip. Portuguese cuisine nothing special. There are better Portuguese restaurants in the Lisbon area. I know what I'm talking about because I'm portuguese.

  10. Daniel f.
    Daniel f.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Love it ... food ambience and more importantly the staff.. William is a great asset to the place .. he is always kind and caring as are the rest of the guys. Keep it up don’t lose it.

  11. Susanna S.
    Susanna S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent, delicious dishes, prepared with presentation in mind and taste. My magret to canard was equal to that I have eaten for the past 40 years in SW France. The service was very friendly. My one disappointment was that there was no mention anywhere of not serving fish on Mondays, only shellfish and bacalau, which isn´t fresh, of course. It makes perfect sense, but since this is a well-known restaurant for non-Lisboetans, it would be a plus to mention it on the website. But bravo, I will return!

  12. Rose L.
    Rose L.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Good experience as first meal in Lisbon. Service was very professional, not super friendly but polite and very well organised. Food was delicious and generous serves.

  13. CLAUDIO C.
    CLAUDIO C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    You got try the grilled octopus and octopus salad.

  14. Kyua k.
    Kyua k.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just Perfect

  15. Jeffrey  M.
    Jeffrey M.
    • one review
    10/10

    wonderful restaurant. The food and service were both terrific. As many have said before, the octopus entrée was amazing. I am a huge octopus fan and order it whenever I have the chance, and this was probably the best octopus dish I have ever had

  16. P C.
    P C.
    • one review
    9/10

    This little restaurant was a great find. Brilliant seafood in a cute, cheerful setting, accompanied with friendly service. The fact that one has to ring a bell at the main door to be let in enhances the feeling of being a valued guest, in my view.

  17. David J.
    David J.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Okay. Good food. Small place. Nice atmosphere. Nice service. But just not quite there. You need to ring a bell to get in. At first I thought it was closed. Almost left. I guess they’re trying to pretend to be exclusive. I get in. Get seated. Order a glass of wine. They’re out of that one. I try a different one. They’re out of that one. A third. Out of that one too. They have thingamajigs to call your server on the table. I needed to use it to order the first glass of wine because once I got seated no one came. But once things got going it was good. Good food. Good service. Good low prices. The sea bass on rice dish was adequate but small portion of good tasty sea bass. For the price I recommend. If they could turn it up a notch it would be five star.

  18. Paul B.
    Paul B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Our Host suggested this place as it was very near to where we were staying. The food was excellent it was my partner's birthday and they kindly placed a candle in his dessert . The service was also very good and we would highly recommend Frade Dos Mares and hope to return next time we are in Lisbon.

  19. Diego f.
    Diego f.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant, the hospitality was 10/10, no mention the amazing food and delicious taste. And to close the great night, the tasting dessert!! Oh MY GOD!!! Foodgasmic!! I'll be back for sure!

  20. Jerome T.
    Jerome T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Try the polvo! To die for! Excellent service and food. Would go again in a heartbeat! Desserts also good. Very nice ambiance. Breaded mussels excellent too!

  21. DONG HYUN K.
    DONG HYUN K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Supern local restaurant with very welcoming group of staffs. Tried prawns, octopus salads as starter and baked whole fish and seafood cataplana. All were tasty, but the baked fish was really great! Also staffs can all speak very good English and professional. Will definately visit again.

  22. Adrian  R.
    Adrian R.
    • 21 reviews
    7.5/10

    Service very slow ! We waited 15 minutes or longer after we sat down and had to call for the walter several times ! However food and atmosphere was very good .

  23. Alessandro D.
    Alessandro D.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent place, good service, quality and atmosphere

  24. Zoltan S.
    Zoltan S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    - missing wet wipes at the table - fruit drink was not really tasty and fresh and the selection was limited - service was very friendly and welcoming - seafoods mix for 2pax was tasty and experiencing :-)

  25. Gina G.
    Gina G.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was fantastic great service the Octopus was one of the best dishes we have had OMG!! So good we highly recommend this restaurant make sure you make a reservation.

  26. Brenda V.
    Brenda V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Early dinner with children. Choice for everyone. Welcoming atmosphere. Excellent octopus and sea bass. Kids menu very appropriate as well. Very friendly service

  27. Thalia C.
    Thalia C.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    For starters, we had the Veal Beef salad, the meat was really tender and the dressing for the salad was very tasty. We ordered the Octopus with olive oil & garlic as main course, which was again wonderful. Service was excellent. We will definitely return for a second meal.

  28. Roberto S.
    Roberto S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The only problem (not that big) is the noise. If the restaurant is full, it is a bit difficult to chat.

  29. Marshall W.
    Marshall W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very innovative cooking. A wonderful way to experience dinner in Portugal in that it takes dining to the next level up! Highly recommended!

  30. Gabriela  S.
    Gabriela S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The best octopus I’ve ever had! Everything else was delicious too, and if you go as part of a larger group or are really greedy you can try ALL the desserts in one dish. Kind and welcoming staff, pleasant setting.

  31. Peter J.
    Peter J.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who visited about four years ago and standards have clearly been maintained! The menu was interesting, focussing on traditional Portuguese seafood dishes as we had hoped, and there was a quite reasonably priced wine list with a wide range of Portuguese wines. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable and the service was rapid and efficient. We both chose goat's cheese in filo pastry with a salad for the starter and cataplana of octopus and mussels for the main course. Both dishes were extremely good and there was more cataplana than we could eat. We would definitely eat there again - it is essential to book.

  32. Horst B.
    Horst B.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really excellent food. The Octopus was spectacular the best I've ever eaten. The restaurant is small but elegant. Friendly service.

  33. Robert W.
    Robert W.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Not as good as I remembered from a previous trip. Some things were very good but others not so good. Octopus salad was loaded with Octopus but the veggies in the salad were not good. Peppers seemed cooked and mushy or overly marinated — taste was just off. Husband’s veal loin with port wine sauce was delicious though. Also, very noisy when it got crowded.

  34. Vicki C.
    Vicki C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous. Catarina was an excellent host. Thank you.

  35. Eri I.
    Eri I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Gorgeous fish restaurant. Never got disappointed from starter to dessert. Great wine selection as well. Highly recommended to all seafood lovers!

  36. Amanda R.
    Amanda R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We booked ahead having read thus was necessary, and it was true. People arrived without reservations and were turned away. Friendly knowledgeable and competent staff. Delicious food. Good portions. We were served by Cat who was delightful. Would definitely recommend thus restaurant.

  37. Peter B.
    Peter B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Really good food with friendly staff.

  38. Javier h.
    Javier h.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Para recomendar

  39. Jeff F.
    Jeff F.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very lovely, private, and intimate restaurant. Gracious and lovely staff. Excellent wine selection, though they had no vino verde available for us. We reserved on a Monday, and were also out of the catch of the day. It seems they were depleted from the weekend, so perhaps not the best day to reserve. The goat cheese crispy appetizer received rave reviews. My mussels gratin, in the shell, were plentiful and with good flavor, but overcooked, rubbery and difficult to remove from the shell. Other than that, we were very satisfied with our meals. The shrimp risotto was perfectly delicious as was the delicate sea bass dish.

  40. Dimitris M.
    Dimitris M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food , great atmosphere and excellent service!! I totally recommend it for an exceptional experience!! Very nice cozy restaurant in which you can taste delicious plates!!