8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 464 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Robert B.
    Robert B.
    • one review
    9/10

    We really enjoyed the flavours and balance of spices and heat. Portion sizes OK. Rendang and spicy prawns very good. Service was quick and ambience soft and intimate.

  2. Dan p.
    Dan p.
    • one review
    6/10

    Expensive for the quality and offering

  3. Saudi  F.
    Saudi F.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Over rated Food and the smell are all over the place

  4. Natalie S.
    Natalie S.
    • one review
    9/10

    We had a delightful meal at Blue Pepper. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. I would highly recommend the restaurant to couples, families or groups of friends.

  5. Elisabeth v.
    Elisabeth v.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Wonderful Amsterdam Rijst Tafel. Good quality food, good drinks, nice interiors, timely service, good price/quality ratio. Lovely and attentive service. Little mins, like my chair standing so that i could look into the kitchen fridge and aperitif not being too creative.

  6. Jan  C.
    Jan C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food, real Asia touch in the centre of Amsterdam. We werena group of 9 and still the service was very swift, the food came in no time at all. We had the Dutch tasting menu which was basicaly sharing everything they had and it was great. Perfect choice of wines even without a long list of them. Just the right ones. Great experience.

  7. Monia M.
    Monia M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Small but cozy restaurant, one of the best Indonesian restaurants I have been in Amsterdam. Outstanding diverse flavoured dishes and superb staff. Highly recommended.

  8. Jukka v.
    Jukka v.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Nice service and atmosphere, delicious Asian tastes. We enjoyed and liked a lot ????

  9. Samantha M.
    Samantha M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The setting is lovely and I’m always interested to try a vegan set course menu, even if if it is pricier (€45 including dessert). We had high expectations and made a booking for 19:30 on a Saturday. Unfortunately, this was a very disappointing experience and we were not impressed with the food nor the service. The vegan rice table (The Tiger Rijsttafel) seemed quite small for the price, compared to similar options at other finer dining Indonesian restaurants in the area, and also compared to the accompanying items on the meat/fish course (they are only €2-5 more expensive). The salad course was very dainty. The menu states that red rice was included, but this was absent. There was a sizable and rich soup course, not spicy whatsoever. The main course consisted of three very small ramekins (just big enough to set a whole egg inside) — two warm dishes, one cold — and a medium bowl of rice which unfortunately was dried out on top and not very warm. The cold item seemed to be missing its tangy sauce/nutty topping. The menu showed additionally a jackfruit curry, Javanese style, but this was also missing. There was also a miscommunication on my partner’s order, which the staff eventually realized when we inquired about missing courses. They fixed this by sending out the courses as soon as possible, along with offering a discount for the mix-up. It is worth noting we ordered in English without realizing the server was not strong in English. In this case we would have pointed to the menu items or named them in Dutch, but it was not apparent at the time. We asked the waitstaff if it was a busy night and they said it was not busy by their standards. However, we noticed that they were struggling to get food and drink to tables with smooth timing, or clearing off tables before the next patrons arrived. I wonder if there was an issue happening behind the scenes that caused our meals to be disappointing, like new or missing waitstaff or kitchen staff. Best wishes to the restaurant, and hopefully they can keep an eye out to make the vegan menu and the diners’ meal experiences more pleasurable.

  10. Ole Petter B.
    Ole Petter B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really good food. Varoius dishes. With a lot of good Meat. The dessert was an explosion of taste. Starting with the lemonpepper???????? Recommended place to visit.

  11. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, excellent service. Our first time experiencing Indonesian food did not disappoint!

  12. Sarabeth S.
    Sarabeth S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved the variety of course menus containing small portions and then the pairings of wines with each course. Very enjoyable!!

  13. Jessica G.
    Jessica G.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Love it! Perfect balance of sweet, spice, and savory. The service was friendly and attentive. The restaurant happily accommodated my husband’s request for no shellfish.

  14. Karl B.
    Karl B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Outstanding food. I had the four course menu. My wife a la carte. You can’t go wrong with either. The Lamb Sate was a treat. Thank you Blue Pepper. We’ll be back.

  15. Michelle R.
    Michelle R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.

  16. David S.
    David S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Wow...what a great experience. We have never had Indonesian food before. My spouse had the vegan/vegetarian five-course meal while I had the 4-course meal with meat dishes. Every dish was a new and delicious taste sensation that blended together perfectly . Can hardly wait to try it again.

  17. Simone L.
    Simone L.
    • one review
    8/10

    It had a very nice modern atmosphere, small but wasn’t too loud or over crowded. Service was good and efficient. The food was good, lots of different flavours.

  18. Susan M.
    Susan M.
    • one review
    2/10

    Blue Pepper cancelled my reservation for a private party. I was only in town for one night, so I was disappointed.

  19. Frank G.
    Frank G.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was a meal to remember! We loved every aspect - from the amuse-bouche to the desserts. And the wine pairing just took it over the top!

  20. Nora J.
    Nora J.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best meals I have ever had. As a vegetarian, most restaurant meals are fairly boring and predictable. This one exceeded my expectations by a long shot. The dishes were not just afterthoughts, with the animal protein removed, but creations in their own right - flavorful and unusual. There was so much to enjoy in this meal! I wish I had time to go back, before leaving Amsterdam.

  21. Gidon A.
    Gidon A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Little charming restaurant. Best Indonesian food. Great service at very reasonable prices. The deserts were spectacular. It’s definitely worth a visit when in you’re in Amsterdam.

  22. Ruth A.
    Ruth A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was a little spicy, but very tasty, with original dishes. We had a 5 courses menu, one regular and one vegetarian, both are recommended

  23. Lillian M.
    Lillian M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Top 10 best meal ever from the sautéed grasshopper savory amuse to the ending electric blossom buzz in dessert.

  24. Stuart G.
    Stuart G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great. Will go back

  25. Sharon V.
    Sharon V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were really helpful and the food was very good.

  26. Harald F.
    Harald F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really good, delicious and friendly personal

  27. Robert H.
    Robert H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The cuisine is delicious and innovative with first-rate presentation. Lists of interesting dishes!

  28. Rene D.
    Rene D.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Good experience but expensive !

  29. Kathy M.
    Kathy M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful adventure in bursts of flavor. Great presentation

  30. Marion M.
    Marion M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fully enjoyed it

  31. Linda L.
    Linda L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Delicious dinner, a modern take on the traditional Indonesian tasting menu.

  32. Alex L.
    Alex L.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    We thought the restaurant was charming and the staff helpful. The food was good, really tasty and beautifully served, but quite hot in terms of balance, and if you’re unused to chilli I’d suggest asking for less.

  33. Harry W.
    Harry W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent dishes and stuff

  34. Laura S.
    Laura S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The complexity of each dish was marvelous. Interesting flavors, well presented and prepared. Lovely service.

  35. Max M.
    Max M.
    • one review
    10/10

    A great experience!!

  36. Viko J.
    Viko J.
    • 3 reviews
    3.5/10

    Food was quite bland, the vegetarian options we had lacked real spice. It would have also benefited from more sauce. We would not go back as the potions are small but the menu very expensive and not that special. The plate provided was also dirty which we gave to get replaced. Really disappointed as it had so many good reviews and were recommended by our hotel (Andaz).

  37. Jeffrey M.
    Jeffrey M.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Very lovely and relaxed dinner cruise. Both food and service were excellent.

  38. Luke A.
    Luke A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    You get what you pay for!!! Delicious food. Great wine paring. Highly recommended

  39. Viv A.
    Viv A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Tasting menu with complementary wine was excellent. Also adapted the menu to accommodate Ceoliac with no issues.

  40. Vivien H.
    Vivien H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Extremely interesting dining experience, nice to try completely new things